Thursday, December 23, 2010

A plea for parking lot etiquette at the shopping mall | L.A. NOW | Los Angeles Times

A plea for parking lot etiquette at the shopping mall

December 23, 2010 |  8:02 am

http://latimesblogs.latimes.com/photos/uncategorized/2008/06/23/parkinglot.jpg

ETIQUETTE, people!!

What about parking lot etiquette don’t you understand?

Sandy More than the rain or the lines, or the coupons that didn’t work on anything I wanted, it was the nerve-wracking cruise through the parking lot that turned today’s mall expedition into the kind of ordeal that makes online shopping seem downright fun. For those of you who missed the memo about holiday parking lot navigation, here are a few simple requests from those of us who need parking spaces, to those of you who already have them: If you sense a car crawling down the aisle behind you, don’t presume they’re sightseeing.

Talkback

THEY WANT YOUR SPACE.

And they are willing to block an entire lane to get it. If you’re just dropping off your shopping bags and heading back into the mall, GIVE US A CLUE: Shake your head vigorously, wave us around you, mouth the words “I’m not leaving” with the sort of exaggerated gestures you’d use with a child.

And if you are leaving, make eye contact please, then nod and point toward your car. Remember where you parked, and DON’T MEANDER. It’s aggravating to stalk a shopper to the end of a row, only to watch him cut across to a different aisle, pull out and let somebody else grab the spot before you can wheel around. If you’re lost, just signal.

We’ve all had those “Where’s my car?” moments.

Just don’t leave that car crawling behind you guessing while you wander around. When you get in your car, LEAVE IMMEDIATELY. Don’t phone your friend to tell her how crowded it is, or sort through the receipts stuffed in your wallet. Don’t let the car warm up or fiddle with the radio dial. You can do that after you pull out -- when you join that line of idling cars waiting to leave the parking lot.

As we head down to the wire in this shopping season, Talk Back and tell us what complicated your gift-buying trips: parking lot follies, clueless clerks, that customer with a handful of expired coupons whose credit card just wouldn’t go through.

Or was that you?

Wednesday, December 15, 2010

Beauty rest, getting enough? If not, you might be looking a bit less attractive - latimes.com

Beauty sleep does make a difference in how you look – and how you look to others. A new study finds that people who don’t get their beauty sleep could appear to be unhealthy and unattractive.

The Swedish study published in the British Medical Journal on Tuesday measured the effects of sleep using 23 adults who were photographed before and after they were deprived of sleep. Observers then viewed randomly selected photos and rated their perceptions of the people in them.

Not surprisingly, the sleep-deprived folks got low marks on the healthy and attractive scale. Those who scrimp on sleep don’t just feel tired, they look it too, the study said. Here's an abstract of the findings and the full study.

And you can’t make up sleep loss as quickly as you think, this Los Angeles Times story says.

So it pays to work on your beauty rest, not good news for new moms and dads, though.

Tuesday, December 14, 2010

Is Multiscreen Enough? Why 'Write Once' Shouldn't be the Goal | UX Magazine

Is Multiscreen Enough? Why 'Write Once' Shouldn't be the Goal

By Kevin Suttle / December 13th 2010

Another of Adobe’s annual MAX events has come and gone, and I took quite a bit away from my time in Los Angeles. The clear message from Adobe CTO Kevin Lynch during the first day’s keynote was that the company’s immediate focus is on enabling solutions for “multiscreen” applications, citing dozens of new form factors, abundant broadband availability, and more Internet-connected devices in the home than ever before.

The literal connotation of ”multiscreen” would be ”many screens.” Sure it’s catchy, and sounds great on marketing materials, but it’s far from accurate. Though the idea of “write once, deploy everywhere” is enticing to developers and project managers alike, should that be the goal? Granted, productivity is paramount and time is money, but simply resizing the same application to fit on multiple devices doesn’t necessarily ensure the best experience for users.

Another interesting concept from the conference came from Adobe Evangelist Ryan Stewart: “Contextual Applications.” This expresses an idea that has great promise, although it has yet to be realized. In Adobe’s own words from a little over a year ago:

These solutions are broader in scope than a device, a campaign, or a single service; rather, they encapsulate the various contexts in which the end user exists, interacts, thinks, consumes, and purchases.
     - Design contextual solutions and applications, Adobe [pdf]

Adobe’s demo of Dreamweaver CS5 was intended to showcase the re-flow and automatic layout abilities of HTML pages that take advantage of CSS3 media queries. This makes it possible for each page in a website to adapt to the browser it’s being viewed in, and each page that Adobe demoed did so marvelously.

I applaud the efforts to make content more customized to the device it’s being displayed on, but there are two rather clear indicators that context is not at the forefront of this workflow.

1. The layout change is superficial

Context is not only about differing screen sizes. In fact, screen size is only a small part of the equation.

To be more specific, content-creators must leverage the advantages each context affords. For example, in the mobile scenario, many other factors should be considered. The user’s location, network connectivity, time-relative information, hardware and software performance limitations, light sources, viewing angles, contrast, sound, user presence, and privacy are each equal parts of the whole experience of a mobile device. When an application or site is used on a phone, it should take advantage of the things a phone can do, not simply readjust the display to be readable on a smaller screen.

Your content is of little value to its users if it ignores the context in which it was viewed, manipulated and processed.
     - Cameron Moll

2. The path to the content is made longer

Also in the demo (at time marker 3:25), the homepage of the example site is previewed across a 3-up view: one for a desktop browser, one for a tablet, and one for a smartphone browser. The phone's content becomes buried beneath the main navigation, adding an extra interaction to get to the information in the site that the user wanted. On a device that can afford the least amount of extraneous actions, these extra steps mean extra time spent waiting, extra data transferred, and extra battery use. It may seem minuscule, but over time, data usage, battery level, network activity, and even data costs can add up. These types of decisions made during an application’s planning can make or break the experience.

Demo of Dreamweaver CS5 multiscreeen capabilities

Admittedly, it was just a demo, and before I seem too focused on only the less-positive aspects of the keynote, l’m happy to report that as far as Adobe’s message regarding UX message is concerned, it gets better. Adobe seems to be shifting of the way it thinks about and approaches multiscreen application development.

Kevin Lynch made the statement, “We really need to shift now to building mobile first,” a concept that Luke Wroblewski is credited with championing, and that many in the experience design field are shifting to. In the words of mobile-first convert, RJ Owen, the idea that designing and planning for the mobile “version” of your application first makes the most sense because:

  1. Mobile is more important than desktop these days.
  2. Mobile forces you to focus on what's really important.
  3. Mobile extends your application's capabilities (GPS, touch-screens, etc.).

You can view the clip from Kevin Lynch’s keynote where he talks about mobile-first on Luke’s blog. So, there is a silver lining, and I’m glad to see Adobe making strides towards providing better experiences across application end-points.

Martha Stewart joined Kevin Lynch to unveil her Martha Stewart Living magazine iPad app, proving once again that interactive experiences are breathing new life into the struggling print industry. The app itself is simple and beautiful, refreshing and stunningly original, and showcases just how expressive, sensory, and immersive a magazine experience can be. From using multitouch and gesturing to break apart delicate Phyllo dough in a recipe, to displaying a time-lapse montage of a flower blooming, presenting a “living cover” to the user, this iPad app represents the rebirth, and redefinition of the magazine. During Martha’s time on stage, she made some statements that showed just how much she gets it:

We want to tell a story, but we also want to also show a story.

This allows you to go as deep as you want to go, or as shallowly as you want to go.

Indeed, Martha understands just how much of an impact that maximizing context and staying current through technology can have on a brand’s identity and presence.

Continuing with the multiscreen theme, another sizable push by Adobe has been aimed at developing content for the “digital living room,” specifically the television. Adobe announced AIR on TV, a new version of their powerful Flash-based runtime that will allow developers to create applications for products such as Google TV.

Developing interactive content for televisions isn’t new, the technology and consumer-readiness are finally in sync. With more and more bandwidth and Internet-ready televisions being announced regularly heading into the holidays, folks want to start getting their web content on televisions. From a development perspective, it’s not as simple as throwing content onto a web server, plugging a USB drive into the TV, or submitting work to a centralized marketplace. There is a bit of a learning curve when it comes to providing a quality experience on televisions.

Companies like litl, where I work, are helping to educate developers wanting to create applications for the TV, by providing information about television-specific display issues such as overscan. This is a new frontier for many people, so it’s important to understand the ins, outs, and gotchas” in order to keep applications optimized and performing well.

The applications we develop are on more devices and operating systems than ever. Planning for multiscreen (or contextual) applications needs to begin with mobile-first and cover far more than varying screen sizes. Instead of the idea of “write once, deploy everywhere,” we should embrace something along the lines of, “write for mobile, provide the best possible contextual experience on each additional device.” That should be our goal.

American Internet Use Catches Up With TV Use - NYTimes.com

American Internet Use Catches Up With TV Use

Americans are now spending as much time using the Internet as they are watching television, and the amount of time people spend on the Internet has increased 121 percent over the last five years, according to a survey published Monday by Forrester Research.

While people younger than 30 years old have spent more time with the Internet than television for several years, Forrester’s survey shows that this is the first year that people in older age groups are also doing so. The amount of time spent on the Internet for personal uses tails off among older groups, ranging from about 12 hours a week for adults under 30 to about eight hours for people over 66 years old.

At first glance, this seems like further evidence of the much ballyhooed, if statistically suspect, trend of cord-cutting, whereby people transition from watching television to streaming online video. Pay TV subscriptions in the United States are down this year. In addition, wireless carriers like Verizon and Sprint have been encouraging the idea that faster new wireless networks could serve as a substitute for landline broadband services. So cable companies that bundle broadband access with cable television service are seeing threats on multiple fronts.

Forrester’s survey does show a significant increase in the number of people using the Internet to watch streaming video; 33 percent of adults surveyed this year said they use the Internet to watch video, up from 18 percent in 2007.

Yet the amount of time people spend with their televisions remains relatively stable. (By contrast, the survey found that people were spending significantly less time listening to the offline versions of radio and reading printed newspapers and magazines.)

The rise of the Internet is not necessarily leading to a drop in television consumption because the Internet, and particularly the mobile Internet, simply creates more opportunities for people to consume media, said Jacqueline Anderson, an analyst at Forrester who wrote the report. Until recently the supermarket checkout aisle was not seen as a prime opportunity for media consumption.

But the survey did not address directly a vital question: whether people who are watching streaming video on their televisions consider themselves to be watching TV or using the Internet. So some television replacement could be hidden behind this ambiguity, if people who are watching Internet content through set-top boxes or Internet-connected televisions see that as television use. It is this activity, of course, that poses the real threat to the existing business model of cable and satellite television providers.

And it is clear that younger viewers are increasingly comfortable with the Internet as the place to watch their television.

“For the younger population, the TV is still important, but where they’re getting that content from is changing,” said Ms. Anderson. “For the generations that are coming up, that’s where we’re going to see the cut.”

How to Measure ROI for Online Video | OnlineVideo.net

How to Measure ROI for Online Video

You work with video, but  is it working for you? Is your video initiative delivering the results needed to justify itself?

No matter what kind of video initiative your company has planned—whether it’s internal communications, B2B, or marketing—you’ve got to show that it’s delivering results.

Measuring those results, the return on investment (ROI) for your video project, can be tricky. To help you out we spoke to Steve Vonder Haar, an expert on video ROI. Vonder Haar is the research director for Interactive Media Strategies, a company he founded in 2002 to look at the business communications market space. He’s been examining video ROI for years.

“if video doesn’t pay for itself, then nobody’s going to use it,” says Vonder Haar.

Here are Vonder Haar’s top five ways for measuring the ROI of your video campaign.

1. Identify Your Objectives
The simplest way to measure ROI is to decide what you want your video to accomplish and see if that’s being done. Who are you trying to reach? What message are you trying to deliver?

“Only when you identify your communications objectives can you identify the returns you’re likely to get from the implementation of video,” says Vonder Haar.

For organizations that are new to video, it’s best to look for the simplest ROI calculation possible. It might be as simple as saving on travel costs. Does using video mean that more people can attend an event at a lower cost?

“This is the classic mode of generating ROI: by keeping people off of planes and out of hotel rooms,” says Vonder Haar. That’s all you need to justify the implementation and get your organization started embracing video.

2. Look for Benefits
You’ll have to get creative in how you search out ROI, says Vonder Haar. Can you get your sales team information more quickly? And does having information faster translate to more sales or increase the selling time of a product?

You’re getting into intangible benefits here, and knowledge is difficult to measure.

“What’s the impact of a sales person who knows a piece of information two to three weeks earlier than would have been the case?” asks Vonder Haar. “You have to have faith that enhanced communications enhances the effectiveness of your workforce.”

Keep in mind that no one asks the ROI of the long distance phone bill, Vonder Haar says. That’s seen as an essential communication tool and it’s not new technology. Streaming video is a next generation tool that can make people more effective.

3. Look at the Analytics
If you go with the right video platform, you can get detailed analytics data that will show you how people interact with your video. If you do a webcast, see what people watch to the end. Those could be clients who have taken the time to learn about a new product or service and are due for a sales call.

Some analytics tools can let you know as soon as a potential client has finished watching a video, so a sales person can call them while they still have it in mind. Video can be the first step in building engagement with an interested prospect, says Vonder Haar.

4. Examine Customer Support Savings
Support and tutorial videos on your website can help employees or customers learn things by themselves. A video can take the place of a glossy four-color brochure, providing more engagement for less money.

“Any way an organization communicates today can be improved or augmented by the implementation of outbound video,” says Vonder Haar.

5. Look for Work Hours Saved
Repetitive tasks are often good choices for video. It you have trainers who teach new hires the same information every week, consider putting that training on video. This frees your corporate trainers to teach more advanced topics. Work hours that you saved by using video count toward the ROI equation, says Vonder Haar.

That’s all the ROI talk for now, but check back next month when we’re talk to Vonder Haar about business video analytics and the tools available to make business video more measurable.

Friday, December 10, 2010

AT&T's new ad campaign: If we lived in a fantasy world, we'd have you covered | Technology | Los Angeles Times

AT&T's new ad campaign: If we lived in a fantasy world, we'd have you covered

December 10, 2010 | 12:03 pm

Camelot

If you stare at the above collation of images from AT&T's new advertising campaign for its mobile network, a peculiar theme emerges.

In each case, a poster paints a picture of a fanciful, non-existent world -- Camelot, Lilliput, Atlantis, "state of Euphoria" and Neverland. The image is accompanied by a statement that, if there really were such a made-up place, AT&T would "have you covered."

Except, there are no such places. Does that mean that AT&T, then, doesn't have you covered?

It seems to follow the classic logical rule that, "If false, then anything." Meaning that: If the statement upon which the logical rule depends is itself false, then it doesn't matter what the conclusion is. For example, if we began a sentence with,"If the moon was made of green cheese," then you could finish it with anything. If the moon were made of green cheese, then it would rain dollar bills seven days a week.

That's a logically sound statement, even though it doesn't have much application to the real world.

AT&T took licks earlier this week, being ranked the overall worst cellphone network by Consumer Reports, coming in last in a number of categories used by the magazine. But the provider has been rallying, putting out a press release recently noting a research firm found its network was the fastest among all major carriers -- more than 60% faster than Verizon, and 40% faster than Sprint. Its competitors did not explicitly disagree with those findings.

Still, the question remains: Why doesn't AT&T want to focus on reality?

-- David Sarno

Photos: Posters from AT&T's new advertising campaign. Credit: David Sarno / Los Angeles TImes

World Map Of Social Networks Shows Facebook’s Ever-Increasing Dominance

Just in case you had any doubts about the fact we live in the age of Facebook, just check out Vincenzo Cosenza’s latest edition of the World Map Of Social Networks.

Based on this month’s Alexa & Google Trends for Websites traffic data, Cosenza posits that Facebook has managed to overtake some local incumbent social networks in the past few months, particularly in Europe.

According to his analysis, the site is now market leader in 115 out of 132 countries.

Other social networks on the rise: LinkedIn and Twitter.

Going back to Facebook, things get even more interesting when you look at how and where the site has made strides over time, starting in June 2009.

Can Anything Stop The Facebook Juggernaut, indeed.

Facebook image

Website: facebook.com
Location:Palo Alto, California, United States
Founded: February 1, 2004
Funding: $836M

Facebook is the world’s largest social network, with over 500 million users.

Facebook was founded by… Learn More

Information provided by CrunchBase

Wednesday, December 8, 2010

Pilot Program - Chrome OS

We're all ears.

The Chrome operating system is a work in progress. We’re looking for the right users to try it out and tell us how we can make it better.

Each participant in the Pilot program will receive a Cr-48 Chrome notebook; in return, we'll expect you to use it regularly and send us detailed feedback.

Sound interesting? Please note:

  • Chrome OS is for people who live on the web.
    It runs web-based applications, not legacy PC software.

  • The Pilot program is not for the faint of heart.
    Things might not always work just right.

The Pilot program is open to individuals, businesses, schools, non-profits and developers based in the United States. Learn about Chrome notebooks for business

Applicants must be at least 18 years of age. We'll review the requests that come in and contact you if you've been selected.

Apply Now

Wednesday, December 1, 2010

5 Facebook profile pics that make you look like a tool - CNN.com

(CNN) -- If a Facebook picture is worth a thousand words, we're pretty sure there's one word in the lexicon you'd be loath to have associated with you: tool.

(Unless you're a handyman, in which case, carry on.)

Yes, Facebook started off as a gated community for college kids awkwardly trolling for chicks in their rooms because the outside world was just too bright ... too bright. But now, as Mark Zuckerberg sallies forth with his plan to consume all of society, it has become kind of legit.

Last week, Zuckerberg unveiled a messaging system for the book of faces that will consolidate e-mail, texts, chat and Facebook messages. While we (unlike myriad reactionary news outlets) won't be calling Z's new baby a "Gmail killer" any time soon (dude, eradicate all those FB phishing scams and then we'll talk), the fact that Facebook would take such a step got us thinking.

Every day, 4 billion messages are shot off via Facebook, and next to those 4 billion messages is something that could make or break the legitimacy of your missive -- or, at the very least, amuse or horrify your friends: your profile picture.

This is your calling card, your public face. So why do so many of you contort it into that of a duck?

Read on for five common types of Facebook photos that make your friends want to block you, potential employers take pause and future suitors weep with frustration at the state of the human race.

The "MySpace shot"

The pouty, self-taken "MySpace" mirror shot just makes you look like a narcissist.
The pouty, self-taken "MySpace" mirror shot just makes you look like a narcissist.

Oh, the "MySpace shot" -- in which men pose shirtless in front of their bathroom mirrors and women pout into their boobs.

You think it makes you look sexy, but, truth be told, it makes you look like you have no friends. Which makes sense, considering the dudes are always hanging out shirtless in the bathroom and the chicks always look so freaking depressed.

Fun fact: Research from OK Cupid shows the "MySpace shot" is the most effective snap for women when it comes to racking up messages. Still, that same research shows that shots of a chick doing something interesting, as opposed to looking sexy, garnered more meaningful communication.

Yes, Facebook is not OK Cupid, but the research holds true: A cell phone pic may get you some attention, but, well, so will drunkenly passing out at a party and flashing your underwear.

And for those among you who are too deeply entrenched in the morass of narcissism to pry iPhone from hand, might we suggest getting an account on DailyBooth? This service lets you take a photo of yourself every day in order to track how your appearance changes over time. At least then you can call it art ... or something.

Subbing in an inanimate object/pet/baby

Sure, he's cute. But he's not you.
Sure, he's cute. But he's not you.

"Hey Tim... so, I've known you for about five years now and I'm pretty sure you are not a crude drawing of a dinosaur, a cat with lasers for eyes or a green square. No, I'm pretty sure you're a skinny dude with an only slightly unfortunate haircut."

So thinketh your friends when nary a picture on your Facebook profile is actually of you. Also, people will start to wonder if you have been disfigured in some horrifying accident and -- Phantom of the Opera-like -- are masking your hideous face with that of Conan's.

If you insist on getting creative with your profile pic, check out Twibbons, which lets you create profile images that promote a cause.

Liquoring up

A couple of party pictures in which you're holding a glass of wine or a beer are fine, but a parade of profile pics that could pass for Budweiser ads -- or, for that matter, the photo above -- are probably not the best choice when it comes to looking like a professional/not an alcoholic.

Yeah, that pic of you in the pool doing Edward 40-Hands might be hilarious to your poker pals and fellow former frat bros, but the kids you teach fourth grade math to (and their parents) will probably be less than amused.

Group shots

Yes, we get it -- you have lots of friends and are very popular.
Yes, we get it -- you have lots of friends and are very popular.

Let's say you meet a new dude at a dark party. The guy seems nice, and looks to be cute from what you can tell through the haze of the smoke machine and Four Loko (it hasn't been banned everywhere yet, folks), but you can't quite tell because of the crudely markered-on Castro beard (oh, forgot to mention it's Halloween).

The next day, you eagerly seek out homeboy on Facebook, only to find a profile picture that features not one, but five similar-looking dudes lying in the grass -- wearing Wayfarers and fedoras. How are you supposed to tell which is which, and whether you should click "friend"?

Yeah, Facebook is not technically a dating site, but let's face it, the first thing you do after meeting a new romantic interest is stalk the hell outta him or her. According to a survey from Seventeen magazine, within one week of meeting someone, 79 percent of 16-21 year-olds add that person to their Facebook circle.

And, as shallow as it is, folks will judge you based on your profile -- that same research shows that 43 percent of girls would decide not to date someone if his profile was a bust. So don't hide behind your friends in the shot that's supposed to show who you are. Save that for after the breakup, when you run into her at your local watering hole.

Holiday or wedding pics ... months after the wedding

Sure, your wedding was awesome -- way back in JULY. Don't rub it in.
Sure, your wedding was awesome -- way back in JULY. Don't rub it in.

Yes, it was totally awesome that that Halloween party you went to featured not one, not two, but three Fidel Castros (you are the dude mentioned above, btw), but it's not so awesome that you should still keep a picture documenting this phenom front and center in late November. A week or two tops, friends, and then it's back to that lovely shot of you wearing pleated pants and a polo (we'll tackle that problem at a later date).

The same goes for wedding photos. It's really nice that you got married, and we all pored through every shot from the ceremony, but leaving up a portrait of you in full bridal garb for several months is akin to shoving your ring in your friends' faces daily.

We are no longer happy for you. You are now just gloating. We fear the day when you produce offspring.

Some of my Facebook friends REALLY need to take a look at this post. hint hint.

Tuesday, November 23, 2010

Free Zappos VIP Membership (Guaranteed Free Overnight Shipping for Life)

Click here to sign up for Zappos VIP free overnight shipping.

Offer ends Friday, November 26, day after Thanksgiving.

Free Zappos VIP membership is back! Sign up by Friday November 26 to get free overnight shipping on all your Zappos orders.

The last time they offered this "free Zappos VIP membership" opportunity was three months ago, in late August 2010. Before that previous offer it was December 2009, a gap of almost 9 months!

Zappos VIP membership is a lifetime membership that gives you free overnight shipping on all of your orders. Zappos is known for surprisingly fast shipping, sometimes overnight shipping even when you didn't pay for it, but with the Zappos VIP membership, its nice to know that you'll get free overnight shipping every single time.  And remember, Zappos offers free return shipping on all their orders, too.

Thursday, November 18, 2010

How To Turn A McRib Into A Hawaiian Thanksgiving

With only a couple weeks to go before the McRib disappears into obscurity again, true fans of the pork-ish McDonald's sandwich are trying to get their fill. And now, thanks to Erik Trinidad, the mad genius behind Fancy Fast Food, they can even enjoy their favorite treat on Thanksgiving.

Starting with one McRib (extra onions), a Filet-O-Fish, two side salads, a large fry and a McCafe Wild Berry Smoothie, Trinidad crafts his takes on Kalua pig, lomi-lomi salmon and poi.

The recipe requires slicing and trimming of the McRib meat (after the sauce is rinsed off), trimming off all the breading from the Filet and mixing it with the McRib onions and tomatoes from the salads, and pureeing the fries -- with a hint of Wild Berry Smoothie -- into a starchy concoction.

So it certainly looks a lot more like restaurant food than it did when it started -- after all, the site's motto is, "Yeah, it's still bad for you -- But see how good it can look!" -- but how does it taste?

Consumerist talked to Mr. Trinidad about his latest creation to see how things turned out:

The "Kalua pig" out of McRib pretty much tasted like a McRib, sans barbecue sauce. The lomi-lomi-o-fish was actually pretty good; the blend of vegetables from the side salad and the non-breaded fish made it taste pretty legit. The McPoi out of mashed fries and some berry smoothie was pretty disgusting; in fact, every time I mash up french fries into a potatoey mush, it's pretty vile, whether it's faux Hawaiian or not.

Speaking of his other creations, over at WomansDay.com, they have a round-up of their faves from the site, including Spicy Chicken Sushi (made from Popeyes), the Wendy's Napoleon and the Taco Bellini.

$399 iPads, fondue sets appearing at TJ Maxx locations across the country -- Engadget

$399 iPads, fondue sets appearing at TJ Maxx locations across the country

Sure, we know where you guys go when you're near a strip mall and have to pick up an irregularly sized Tommy Hilfiger shirt, or when you run out of Paco Rabanne cologne before a hot date, but we definitely did a double take when our tipster Aaron sent us these pics he took of a 16GB WiFi iPad that he found at a TJ Maxx in Vernon, NY -- and not just because they're going for a relatively reasonable $399. We made a couple phone calls and found some at stores in Ohio and New Jersey (including one who said they were holding their stock back for Black Friday) while we struck out in other parts of the country. Still, if you're looking to drop cash on one of these guys, we'd make a quick call to your local outlet before heading to the Apple Store. And when you're done, don't forget to swing by Half Price Books and pick up a remaindered copy of A Bold Fresh Piece of Humanity by Bill O'Reilly. Get a closer look after the break.

Looking for an Ipad? Check out your local TJ Maxx

You Can Now Login to MySpace with Facebook

In a move that has been rumored for nearly a year, MySpace is now set to launch the ability for users to login to its service using Facebook.

In a press event this afternoon, the two companies announced an expansion of their existing partnership that puts a connect with Facebook button on the MySpace homepage and enables a wide range of personalization and sharing features on MySpace.

Users who login with Facebook (or connect their existing MySpace account to Facebook) are able to pull in their likes and interests, which makes it easy for them to do things like connect their favorite entertainers. MySpace also has plans to integrate “Like” buttons across the site, meaning MySpace content will start getting shared back to Facebook.

Space Shuttle Orbiter 1:1 Model for $2,200,000 + pickup

SpaceToys.com offers a Space Shuttle Orbiter 1:1 Scale Replica Model for $2,200,000. Although shipping is the responsibility of the purchaser, that's $26,600,000 below the lowest total price we could find for an actual NASA space shuttle. This non-flying replica does not include an interior.

Twitter’s Official Analytics Product Has Arrived

Twitter has started inviting a select group of users to test a new analytics product, Mashable has learned. Such a product has been rumored for some time, and a Twitter executive said earlier this year that Analytics would debut by the end of 2010.

With Twitter Analytics, users will be able to see a plethora of data about their account; for example, information about which tweets are most successful, which tweets caused people to unfollow, and who the most influential users are that reply and retweet their messages.

In the images below, you can see how some of this data is charted. A bar graph over 6-hour increments shows you mentions, follows and unfollows, for example, and you can filter tweets by categories that are defined as “best,” “good,” and “all.”

In what will no doubt come as a blow to the third-party vendors that are already providing similar tools, we’re hearing that the product will be free and that Twitter (Twitter) has no immediate plans to charge.

We’re working to gather more information, but we may hear more about it later this afternoon, when Twitter’s Evan Williams takes the stage at the Web 2.0 Summit in San Francisco. Stay tuned.

Wednesday, November 17, 2010

Deciphering What Your E-Mail Address Says About You

Deciphering What Your E-Mail Address Says About You

by Eyder Peralta

NPR - November 17, 2010

We've reported about Facebook's e-mail that's not e-mail, but I wanted to point you to a humorous piece by the Washington Post's Alexandra Petri. In it she deciphers the social significance of different e-mail services. The gist?

You know the old saying: Never trust a man with an @yahoo email address.

Learning that your prospective date still has an Earthlink e-mail is the equivalent of discovering his vestigial tail. E-mail says something about you. It says, "I can be reached here," but, like a physical address, it also carries a certain cachet. Gmail? You're probably reliable and tech-savvy. AOL? You are probably someone's grandmother. @mindspring? You probably live in a box under a bridge.

http://www.npr.org/blogs/thetwo-way/2010/11/17/131388558/deciphering-what-your-e-mail-address-says-about-you?sc=ipad&f=1019


Sent from my iPad

Friday, November 12, 2010

Kaart: google classic - Boomerang

Make Your Own McRib: Bigger, Better, and Always Available

Make Your Own McRib: Bigger, Better, and Always Available

View Gallery Photo: Ryan Adams

Last week, McDonald's reintroduced the McRib — its cultish take on a barbecue pork sandwich— to its menu for, as they say, a limited time only. First introduced to the fast-food canon in the early '80s, the McRib fared poorly and was pulled after a few years, only to be brought back every so often to much hype and popular obsession. Even when it's not available, it gets a fair bit of airplay from fans and enemies alike. This little sandwich with just five components — sandwich roll, onions, pickle slices, barbecue sauce, and a single hunk of pork — lands so much attention. And yet it could be so much better! I was inspired to make a superior version right at home.

After a quick trip to McD's, I broke the sandwich down. A very standard-issue six-inch white-flour roll with a dusting of cornmeal on top, lightly toasted. A scattering of raw white onion slivers, which add flavor and crunch. Exactly two dill pickle slices — not three, not five, just two. A slathering of sweet, tangy, tomato-based barbecue sauce with hints of smoke, almost St. Louis style. And the heart of the sandwich, a boneless, flavorless pork patty preformed to look sort of rib-ish, with ridges implying a rack of baby backs. (I have to admit that, to its credit, the meat was terrifically moist, which is probably due to the amount of fat in there.) 

Starting with that fatty cut of pork, I decided to reinterpret the McRib using pork belly, which, over the course of a three-hour braise, turns from a three-pound cut into something like the preformed pork patty's blindingly spectacular cousin. While it cooked, I made a quick pickle and a simple barbecue sauce from scratch, and sliced some red onions — sweeter than the white — to add even more crunch. I stuck with store-bought rolls, but you could easily up the homemade factor and make your own basic white sandwich roll or go really indulgent with a brioche. Sure, it might take a little more time than simply popping down to your local McDonald's for a McRib, but you'll never have to worry about whether it's been taken off the menu.

Here's how to make it:

Barbecue Pork Belly Sandwich with Quick Dill Pickles and Red Onions

Serves 2

Ingredients:
2 six-inch white sandwich rolls, split in half 
1/2 small red onion, cut into batons

For the pork belly:
3 lbs. pork belly, trimmed into a 5" x 2.5" rectangle
salt and freshly ground black pepper
1 1/2 tbsp. vegetable oil
2 medium carrots, roughly chopped
2 medium yellow onions, roughly chopped
2 stalks celery, roughly chopped1 bay leaf
3–4 sprigs of fresh thyme
6 cups chicken stock or fresh water

For the pickles:
4 medium cucumbers, sliced
1 cup kosher salt
2 big pinches pickling spices (coriander seeds, bay leaf, peppercorns, dry mustard seeds, fennel and cumin seeds, cloves) 
3 cloves garlic, peeled and smashed 
5– 6 sprigs of fresh dill
2 cups water
2 cups white wine vinegar
1/4 cup sugar

For the BBQ sauce:
1 cup ketchup
1/4 cup water
1/4 cup apple cider vinegar
1/8 cup brown sugar
1 1/2 tbsp. yellow mustard
1 1/2 tbsp. onion powder
1 1/2 tbsp. garlic powder
1 tbsp. mesquite liquid smoke
1 1/2 tsp. cayenne pepper

1. Preheat oven to 350˚F.

2. Heat a heavy-bottomed, medium-size pot over medium-high heat. Season the pork belly with salt and pepper. Add oil to the pot and sear the pork on each side to a deep golden brown. Transfer pork to a plate and set aside. 

3. Remove all but about 1 tablespoon of the fat from the pot. Add the chopped carrots, onions, and celery to the pot and cook, stirring occasionally, until the vegetables begin to soften. Add the bay leaf, thyme, and 2 cups of chicken stock or water. Bring to a boil, then lower heat to a simmer and reduce liquid by about half.

4. Place the pork back in the pot. Add the rest of the chicken stock or water. Bring to a simmer. Cover with a lid, place in the oven on the center rack, and let cook undisturbed for about 3 hours.

5. While the pork belly cooks, make the quick pickles: Cover cucumber slices with the kosher salt, making sure the slices are covered on both sides. Let sit for 30 minutes, then wash the salt off and place cucumber slices in a glass or stainless-steel bowl along with the pickling spices, smashed garlic, and fresh dill sprigs. Combine the water, vinegar, and sugar in a saucepan and bring to a boil. Pour the vinegar mixture over the cucumbers and allow to steep for 30 minutes. Remove the pickles from the bowl and lightly rinse them in water to remove the brine. Put the pickles in the refrigerator.

6. Now it's time for the BBQ sauce: Combine all ingredients in a saucepan over low heat. Bring to a simmer and cook, stirring occasionally, until the sauce coats the back of a spoon.

7. In a nonstick pan, melt a little butter, then add the sandwich rolls. Toast both rolls to a golden brown crust. Set aside.

8. When the pork belly is fork tender, remove it from the oven. With a slotted spatula, carefully remove the pork belly from the pot. In a bowl, combine the pork belly with the BBQ sauce, making sure to cover every inch of the meat. Slather a small amount of sauce on both the tops and bottoms of the sandwich rolls, then place the sauced pork belly on the bottom halves. Add pickles and red onions to each sandwich and cover with the top half of the bun.


Ryan Adams is the blogger behind Nose to Tail at Home, where he's working his way through Fergus Henderson's first book The Whole Beast: Nose to Tail Eating. He lives near Austin, Texas.

Monday, November 8, 2010

'Enter birthdate' not the Fort Knox of online child locks - CNN.com

(CNN) -- Enter your birthdate on this site to prove that you're over 18: And please be honest, kids.

Is this the best method we can come up with for preventing children from viewing inappropriate online videos?

With the world of video on the Web reaching new audiences thanks to software like Google TV, the whole family now has access to sometimes unrated and unregulated content in the living room, just a few keystrokes away.

And a polarizing California law banning the sale of violent video games to minors is currently being heard by the U.S. Supreme Court. But seemingly little thought has been given recently to regulating how adult-themed content is presented online.

The "enter your birthdate" age-verification system is commonly employed by entertainment companies hosting mature-rated digital videos. Before viewing such a clip, the visitor is asked to input their birth day and year. Of course, the systems have no way of actually ensuring that someone enters his true age.

You'll encounter that screen before watching an episode of the profanity-laden "Louie" on FX Networks' website or before a clip for "Grand Theft Auto" on GameTrailers.com.

Two of the most popular online video sites use a variant of this. YouTube and Hulu require users to login or register an account by providing a birthdate and agreeing to their terms of service documents. (Some legal experts say these agreements wouldn't hold up in court, especially for minors.)

Last week Microsoft enhanced its Xbox Live service's age-verification system, called Family Settings. In addition to game restrictions, Xbox 360 owners can limit the types of downloaded TV shows and movies that can be watched on the system without a passcode.

Sony's PlayStation 3 has settings for restricting which mature-rated games, DVDs and Blu-rays can be played, as well as a lock for the Web browser. (Most new DVD and Blu-ray players offer similar functions.) Sony, which has sold 38 million PlayStation 3 units, doesn't appear to let owners lock content downloaded from Sony's digital store or those manually loaded onto the console.

"We're all doing something similar," Peter Dille, Sony Computer Entertainment of America's vice president of marketing, said of content controls, adding that Sony offers "extensive parental controls."

"We comply with COPA," Dille told CNN recently.

COPA stands for the Child Online Protection Act, a federal law that passed 12 years ago during President Bill Clinton's administration. The legislation provided an early framework for how violent or explicit content should be regulated on the internet.

A response to the unsuccessful Communications Decency Act, COPA would require commercial websites containing material "harmful to minors" to restrict kids from accessing their sites. What constitutes "harmful" isn't entirely clear.

But COPA has been challenged throughout its history for alleged First Amendment violations. Last year the U.S. Supreme Court refused to hear appeals, effectively killing the bill.

"To say they [Sony] are complying with COPA is a nonsensical statement," said James Schmidt, one of 15 members on the long-disbanded COPA Commission.

That's because the commission determined that there was no technological means to protect minors online, said Schmidt, a retired professor at San Jose State University. That opinion even took into account the birthdate-input mechanisms in use today.

"The commission's conclusion was that age verification schemes were so patently transparent that they were of no use," Schmidt said. "How long will it take a 13-year-old to figure that out?"

"It's silly," he added. "It's just plain silly."

Like movies, video games are packaged with age-appropriate ratings. A rating of M (Mature) means the game contains content -- language, blood and gore, sexual situations -- that may not be suitable for people younger than 17. Titles rated AO (Adults Only) contain even more graphic content and are intended for gamers 18 and older.

These ratings are determined by Entertainment Software Rating Board, a non-profit that assesses which age groups are suitable audiences for video games. The board promotes a variation of the birthdate system, which it calls "age gates."

These screening tools, displayed before a user can access a video rated Mature or Adults Only, don't specifically say why the site is asking for a birthdate. The idea is to deter children from lying in order to see a video.

The ESRB also asks websites to install a tracking device in a visitor's Web browser to prevent that person from pressing the "back" button and changing their birthdate after being denied access. The board says it will regularly audit sites to ensure that they're complying.

"They hadn't been doing it particularly consistently or up to the standards that the industry has adopted," ESRB President Patricia Vance said of video-game websites. "The internet is an exceedingly difficult medium to regulate. And I think [this rule] is a very responsible approach to that issue."

GameTrailers.com has refused to install a tracking device in browsers. That's in order to protect adults who accidentally enter the wrong birthdate and get locked out, said Shane Satterfield, the site's editor in chief. GameTrailers.com has had an age gate in place since 2006, he said.

"The ESRB wanted to make the barrier a little more extreme than we had wanted to," Satterfield said. "We can't police the internet to make sure they [users] are telling the truth. We can't check their IDs."

Some entertainment sites worry that getting too fancy with age verification mechanisms could frustrate legitimate consumers.

For example, SouthParkStudios.com, which streams full episodes of the irreverent Comedy Central show "South Park," forgoes age verification altogether.

Movie studios are testing systems that require more information, such as the viewer's name, and then checks the entry against government databases.

Representatives for YouTube, Sony, FX Networks and South Park Studios (a subsidiary of MTV Networks Entertainment Group, which also operates GameTrailers.com) didn't return requests for comment. Hulu and a Fox executive declined to comment.

"We can't prevent kids from lying about their age," the ESRB's Vance said. "The important part is that we aren't inappropriately marketing these games to children."

Satterfield said the responsibility of educating children on what types of content are OK to watch lies with the parents. It's a common argument among advocates against proposed legislation to regulate how stores can sell kids violent video games -- such as the current Supreme Court case.

"If you've raised the kid right and your kid knows right from wrong, then your kid does know what an age gate is and that they shouldn't be there," Satterfield said. If sites "put the red flags in place," he said, then kids might think twice about watching things they aren't supposed to.

The COPA Commission, when tasked with recommending online protections more than a decade ago, came to a similar conclusion.

"We believed first and foremost that the responsibility for monitoring access to content on the internet lies with parents and legal guardians," Schmidt said.

Friday, November 5, 2010

What Kind of Geek Are You? [INFOGRAPHIC]

HOW TO: Calculate the ROI of Your Social Media Campaign

Jamie Turner is the chief content officer of the 60 Second Marketer, the online magazine for BKV Digital and Direct Response. He is also the co-author of “How to Make Money with Social Media” now available at fine bookstores (and a few not-so-fine bookstores) everywhere.

First the bad news: If you’re going to calculate the ROI of your social media campaign, you’re going to have to know math. That may come as a disappointment to people who thought social media was only about accumulating Twitter followers or monitoring Facebook “Likes,” but it’s true. The future of social media is about math, metrics and monetization.

The problem is that most companies aren’t doing an effective job of measuring the value of their social media campaigns. In fact, a recent survey by Econsultancy found that 47% of the companies it surveyed said they were “not able to measure” their campaigns and that “the jury is still out” on the value gained from their social media investment.

If you’re one of the people who isn’t measuring your social media campaigns on an ROI basis, you’re setting yourself up for failure. Here are some tips, advice, and a little bit of simple math to get you on the right path to ROI success.


Understand the Value of Your Social Media Campaign


According to the Direct Marketing Association, if you run a direct response campaign and spend $1, you’ll typically generate $10 or more in return. They know this because they’ve been tracking the transactional data from direct mail, paid search, direct response TV and other campaigns for more than 50 years.

But what if you’re new to social media or new to the world of direct response metrics and don’t have that data or experience? What should you do then?

Fear not. There’s a solution. It involves understanding the 3 categories of social media measurement as well as a simple formula that will help you calculate the ROI of your specific campaign.


The 3 Categories of Social Media Measurement


There are hundreds of different ways to measure social media, which makes it kind of difficult to wrap your mind around. To help with that, social media metrics can be broken down into three different categories.

  • Quantitative Metrics: These are the metrics that are data-intensive and number-oriented. You can really get overloaded with different metrics here, so the trick is to pick the key metrics that most influence your business and not get bogged down with the rest. Those metrics might include unique visits, page views, followers, demographics, frequency, bounce rate, length of visit or just about any other metric that’s specifically data-oriented.
  • Qualitative Metrics: These are the metrics that have an emotional component to them. For example, if 75% of the people who mention your product online call it “cheap” and only 25% call it “inexpensive,” that’s a qualitative metric that has an impact on your business. There are several companies that provide in-depth analysis of the qualitative metrics online. Some of these include RapLeaf, Nielsen and Adobe Online Marketing Suite.
  • ROI Metrics: In the world of social media, all roads should lead to ROI. After all, during business hours, social media isn’t just about being social, is it? We’re doing it to make money. And if you track what percentage of people you converted from a prospect to a customer on your e-commerce site, or how many people you converted from a prospect to a client on your B2B website, then you’ll be able to measure the success of your social media campaign on an ROI basis.

Break Out Your Thinking Caps for Some Math


The most important formula in social media is your Customer Lifetime Value (CLV). In a very basic sense, Customer Lifetime Value is the amount of revenue a customer will bring to your company over the course of their lifetime with your brand.

So, for example, if you’re a lawn care company and you know that a typical customer spends $80 per month with you and that the average customer stays with your company for 3 years, then your Customer Lifetime Value would be $80 x 12 months x 3 years = $2,880.

Once you know your CLV, you can decide how much you’d like to invest to acquire a customer. This is called your Allowable Cost Per Sale. Many people use 10% of their CLV as a starting point for their Allowable Cost Per Sale. In the example above, your CLV is $2,880 and 10% of your CLV is $288, so your Allowable Cost Per Sale is that number: $288.


Putting Customer Lifetime Value (CLV) to Work


Coins Image

To keep things straightforward, let’s assume that the lawn care company relies exclusively on direct mail to acquire new customers. Since a typical response rate for a direct mail piece in the lawn care industry is 0.5%, and since it costs about $1.44 to create and send a direct mail piece, you know that you have to send out 200 direct mail pieces to acquire a new customer. Here’s how the math works out:

  • Number of pieces sent: 200
  • Cost for printing and postage: $1.44
  • Total cost to send 200 pieces: $288
  • Response rate: 0.5%
  • Customers acquired: 200 pieces mailed x 0.5% response rate = 1 new customer

See how that works? For every $288 spent, the lawn care company gets 1 new customer.

Let’s take it a step further. If you’re a large, national lawn care company, you might spend $2.8 million on your annual direct mail campaign. By using the math above, you know that every year, you’ll gain about 10,000 new customers from your $2.8 million direct mail campaign. (Remember, you’ll also lose thousands of customers each year from ordinary churn, so let’s not all go out and start lawn care companies based on the math above.)

Now, let’s assume that your CFO (or your CEO or CMO) wants to test the validity of a social media campaign. In order to do the test, you might slice off 10% of your $2.8 million direct mail budget and use that for a social media campaign. If you know that your $2.8 million direct mail campaign generates 10,000 new customers, then you also know that 10% of that (or $280,000) should generate about 1,000 new customers via direct mail.

That’s the pivotal number: 1,000 customers. After all, now that you know the math around your direct mail campaign, you’ll understand that your social media campaign has to match that in order to be considered a success.

In other words, you have $288,000 to set up, launch and run a social media campaign that needs to generate 1,000 new customers per year.


What You’ll Need


You’ll need a Facebook Page –- no problem. You’ll want a Twitter page –- again, no problem. And you may want to create a series of videos for a YouTube channel –- a bit of work, but also not a big problem.

You’ll want a mobile application, since prospects and customers are beginning to expect them. And you’ll want to develop a monthly e-newsletter with lawn care tips to stay in front of prospects and new customers. (Yes, I consider e-mail marketing a social media tool.)

The most important part of the campaign, however, is a series of landing pages on your website designed to capture prospects and help convert them into paying customers. The landing pages will be designed specifically around the social media campaign, and they’ll need to have Google Analytics, Eloqua or Adobe Online Marketing Suite installed so that they can track traffic and conversions.

The key point is that all of your social media programs –- Facebook, Twitter, YouTube, etc. –- should drive people to the landing page on your website where you can convert them from tire kickers (prospects) to paying customers.

Looking at the program outlined above, it’s easy to see how quickly your $288,000 social media budget can get used up by Facebook, Twitter, YouTube, mobile applications, e-newsletters and landing pages on websites. All that said, it’s very realistic to assume that a campaign of that magnitude would generate 1,000 new customers each year. Better still, it may generate 1,100 new customers or even 1,200 new customers.

Remember, all you have to do is to generate 1,001 new customers in order to march into your CFO’s office and show them that social media can provide a positive return-on-investment.

See? Math isn’t that scary after all.


The Bottom Line


We’ve covered a lot of ground here: the three categories of social media measurement and the single most important formula in social media. But the bottom line is that, as businesspeople, we don’t use social media to be social, we use social media to grow our business. And if you use the program outlined above, you’ll be able to prove the value of social media on a campaign-specific, ROI basis.

Good luck. And keep me posted on your success stories. I’d love to hear more about how you’re using social media to grow your sales and revenue in the comments below.

Monday, November 1, 2010

How to Take Better Food Photos - Budget Travel

Aubrey Dunnuck, of Bloomington, Ind., says she
Aubrey Dunnuck, of Bloomington, Ind., says she "took [her] sweet time" capturing the delicate chocolate shavings on her birthday cupcakes, which she shot on a hotel window ledge during a trip to Chicago—and it shows (Courtesy adunnuck/myBudgetTravel) [enlarge photo]
Zoom inway in [SEE THE PHOTO]
There's no such thing as too close. Almost every new digital point-and-shoot offers a macro setting—just look for the small flower icon—which allows you to focus in on even the tiniest details, from herbs sprinkled over pasta to the chunks of rock salt on a pretzel. In cooking, subtle flavor details make the dish; in food photography, subtle visual details make the shot.
Our reader pick: Aubrey Dunnuck, of Bloomington, Ind., says she "took [her] sweet time" capturing the delicate chocolate shavings on her birthday cupcakes, which she photographed on a hotel window ledge during a trip to Chicago.

Don't center your subject [SEE THE PHOTO]
You're shooting food—not darts—so instead of adhering to a dull, bull's-eye setup, feel free to knock your subject off-center for variety's sake. An off-kilter composition will instantly improve upon the standard aerial shots that encompass the whole plate.
Our reader pick: Joe Routon, of Haddonfield, N.J., photographed chicken wings and hot sauce at a Mexican restaurant in New Jersey. Joe swears by an artistic concept known as the rule of thirds: placing the central focal point of the image a third of the way down and a third of the way over from the edges of the frame. Moving the dipping sauce from the center to the upper left-hand corner gives the picture added impact, says Joe. (Read our earlier interview with Joe, a longtime myBT contributor, here.)


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HUNGRY?
Launch the slideshow for more of your full-flavored food photography.
Launch the slide show

Work with the light [SEE THE PHOTO]
Don't knock yourself out trying to get a beautiful shot in a dark restaurant. Natural light is the key to an appetizing photo, so always ask to sit next to the window or, better yet, to sit outside. Oh, and clouds are a good thing. Overcast days create even lighting that diminishes shadows and makes for a softer, prettier image.
Our reader pick: Harry van Gorkum, of Los Angeles, was the first customer of the day at this small waterfront café in the New Zealand village of Motukaraka. He was able to capture the moment without "any lighting, because the clouds made the morning light 'flat.'"

Look beyond the plate [SEE THE PHOTO]
Many people get stuck on documenting finished dishes, after the server has brought over the plate. But great food photography can also include the field before the harvest, a charismatic fishmonger, or the aisles of a foreign grocery store.
Our reader pick: Connie Hum, of New York City, was inspired by the bright colors of this scene, which she captured from the second floor of a fruit and vegetable market in Panaji, India. "The woman's red sari is a great contrast to the yellow bananas she's surrounded by," Connie says. "The more something pops, the more interesting it is to look at."

Be picky with details [SEE THE PHOTO]
Cropping an image helps show people where to look, which creates a more compelling narrative. A close-up of a grandmother's hands kneading dough or a chef chopping vegetables at the speed of light tells a different story than a full-length portrait.
Our reader pick: Janelle Cole Barry, of San Jose, Calif., took this photo of iced drinks—orange, strawberry, horchata, and alfalfa—in the Mexican town of Guanajuato, but this wasn't her first crack at it. "I originally shot the whole storefront with the person ladling the drinks, but ultimately preferred the close-up of the colorful jars," Janelle says. The cropped frame, she adds, "gives you more of the flavor of being there."

Think vertically [SEE THE PHOTO]
Tall foods and drinks, like cocktails, layer cakes, and ice cream cones, allow you to play with different angles to make the food appear more heroic. (Just look at our June cover.)
Our reader pick: Heidi Shaker Luna, of Ladera Ranch, Calif., shot this foamy latte in a café overlooking Prague's Vltava River. "I focused on the latte and let the castle and bridge in the background get slightly out-of-focus to give it a dreamy appearance," she says. We also like the way the layers of the drink mimic the layers created by the café in the foreground, the river in the middle ground, and the castle in the background.

ADVERTISEMENT | ARTICLE CONTINUES BELOW

Embrace fuzziness [SEE THE PHOTO]
Resist the urge to make everything in the frame sharp and crisp; a blurry foreground can actually look more artistic. On point-and-shoots, hold down the shutter button halfway to selectively focus on certain parts of the picture. On more advanced cameras, such as digital SLRs, you can adjust your aperture—the pupil-like opening that affects how much light enters the camera.
Our reader pick: John Eiberger, of Chicago, captured this shot of whole fried fish covered in red onions and sliced chiles in Thailand, while working on a study of close-up photography called Inches from Bangkok. He writes, "I'm a big fan of selective focus on one part of a shot with a blurred but busy background—which is easy to find in Thailand!"

Clear away the clutter [SEE THE PHOTO]
Move stuff around! Being a great stylist can be almost as important as having the right camera or finding the perfect light. Start with what's on the table and tweak as needed: Move silverware and glasses, turn bottles toward the camera so the viewer can read exactly what you were drinking, and spin the plate so the most important details catch the eye.
Our reader pick: Lynn Farrell, of Scottsdale, Ariz., shot this plate of grilled calamari in a restaurant outside of Mykonos, on a hill overlooking the sea. We love the way this image encapsulates the entire Greek dining experience. From details like the Greek characters on the beer bottle to the rustic paper place mat to the simple garnish, a viewer can instantly get a feel for what it was like to eat an authentic meal in this unfussy restaurant.

Capture a lost-in-translation moment [SEE THE PHOTO]
Sometimes, beauty lies not in the photograph's subject itself, but in the anecdote that it encapsulates. Mistranslations on international menus, foreign takes on American classics, like a Russian Coke bottle, and other cultural mix-ups can tell a story that will make you smile long after you return home.
Our reader pick: Wendy Dreaney, of Bremerton, Wash., shot this picture in an outdoor café at the Khan el-Khalili market in Cairo. The focal point isn't a local delicacy, but instead an unruly mop of mint leaves jammed into a Nestlé water bottle next to a mismatched cup and saucer. She writes, "My friend from Georgia asked, in her classic Southern drawl, for a tea with mint, and this is what she got! I thought the presentation was so simple and charming."

Note: This story was accurate when it was published. Please be sure to confirm all rates and details directly with the companies in question before planning your trip.

Sunday, October 31, 2010

Haynes publishes owner's manual for Star Trek's U.S.S. Enterprise | Mail Online

How to fix a spaceship: The owner's manual for Star Trek's U.S.S. Enterprise

By Niall Firth
Last updated at 1:17 AM on 31st October 2010


They are best known for their in-depth manuals explaining how to get your aging Fiesta moving just one more time.

But now motoring enthusiasts’ bible Haynes has put out a rather unusual new version of its popular guidebooks: an illustrated guide to Star Trek’s U.S.S Enterprise.

With detailed cutaways of all of the versions of the iconic ship from its inception in the early TV shows with Captain Kirk right through to Jean-Luc Picard, the book is destined to be a science-fiction geek’s dream Christmas present.

Enlarge   A side elevation of the USS Enterprise (NCC - 1701) which shows the position of the thrusters

A side elevation of the USS Enterprise (NCC - 1701) which shows the position of the thrusters

Warp Speed: An overview of the main bridge including details of where every crew member stood

Warp Speed: An overview of the main bridge including details of where every crew member stood

the captain's chair on the main bridge, used by Captain Kirk and Jean-Luc Picard is broken down while Spock's role is analysed

The captain's chair on the main bridge, as used by Captain Kirk and Jean-Luc Picard, is broken down while Spock's role is analysed

The Haynes team even hired famous graphic designer Michael Okuda, who produced a technical manual for Star Trek scriptwriters to make sure the technology was consistent throughout the shows.

The Star Trek version looks just like every other Haynes manual

The Star Trek version looks just like every other Haynes manual

‘We’ve tried to capture a bit of Star Trek magic,’ he said.

Each iteration of the Enterprise comes with a full-ship cutaway and details of the bridge, the transporter room and engines. Even the space ship’s crew quarters

Each ship’s systems are analysed in detail and key developments from one version to another are discussed at length.

The 160-page book even covers technologies such as defensive shields, deflectors and computer systems.

Derek Smith, editor at the Book Division at Haynes Publishing said: ‘We’ve had a lot of success with our manuals on classic historic aircraft, such as the Spitfire and the Lancaster, and also with our manual on Apollo 11.

'So we started looking for other iconic subjects to cover.’

Haynes has manuals on the ‘Titanic’ and the Space Shuttle as well as a Wallace And Gromit contraptions manual due to be released.

Mr Smith told the official Star Trek website: ‘Haynes Enterprise Manual covers the various Enterprises – some in more depth than others – at a level that is accessible to anyone.

'So it was really about getting the level of technical detail just right.

‘What’s also important is that the book shows how the design of these ships evolved from NX-01 through to NCC-1701-E.

'Along the way we go into more detail about the key technologies used on board. People want to know how warp engines work. We explain that. People want to know how transporters work. We explain that.’

The U.S.S Enterprise manual will be published as a hardback and priced £19.99.

Enlarge   The guide book

The guide book even comes with a detailed analysis of how the Enterprise was able to hit warp speed to get out of trouble

The Enterprise's warp core is investigated including the elements that took it to beyond light speed

The Enterprise's warp core is investigated including the elements that took it to beyond light speed



 

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If you check the motoring forums Haynes manuals are refered to as B.O.L. , which stands for 'Book of Lies'.

The lack of detail to demonstrate working on any DIY repair is pathetic as are pathetic pictures they use.

I would stick to Space Dock for repairs Captain Kirk.

- Roger, Epping, 31/10/2010 23:53

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Everybody know that all you have to do is run a level 3 diagnostics to fix a star ship.

- George, Rockville, MD, 31/10/2010 22:18

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Great, they will do a book for a fictional tv space ship, but they wont do one for Renault Kangoo- one of the most popluar van /mpv s on the Road
- andy, bogus, 31/10/2010 11:10


You mean the Enterprise isn't real? Hmm. :)

- Martin, Ashford, 31/10/2010 20:10

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Dark Matter wasn't in the original manuals.
Presumably these new ones go hand in hand with the manufacture recall.

- Andrew, Darlington, 31/10/2010 15:47

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Marvellous :)

Can they do a TARDIS one next - my son would love that!

- Donna M, Chichester, 31/10/2010 12:47

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Great, they will do a book for a fictional tv space ship, but they wont do one for Renault Kangoo- one of the most popluar van /mpv s on the Road

- andy, bogus, 31/10/2010 11:10

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